From the Beginning

I’ll be honest, the only reason I’m switching to Word Press is the word count at the bottom of this. I hate having to write in Word just to get a word count, c+p always seems to bite me in the ass. So here I am, with yet another motherfucking blog, I collect them like some people collect dolls.

But in a way … I didn’t so much like the idea of stuffing ROW80 writing in among the tarot cards and personal angst. This will be writing and that will be journaling and what’s one more blog to keep up with?

~*~

So my starting goal for this first session of A Round of Words in 80 Days  is 16,000 by the end date, March 28. 200 words a day is pretty easy, but I know there will be days I can’t/won’t/just-have-no-fucks-to-give — which means some days that 200 becomes 400. Or 600.

If I can pull this rabbit out of my ass in record time, all I have to do is reset my goal upwards. I’d like to think I’ll be doing that very thing, but let’s be honest here, I’ll be fucking grateful if I just don’t have to reset downwards. I’m fully prepared to do that, but I sure hope I don’t have to.

So hey I’m at 21o right now, and I could stop for the day, but I might as well add to the word count just a little by laying out my plans a bit more.

I had initially planned that any and all writing would count, even the daily tarot posts and such over at Blogger, but how about instead I only count what’s here at WP – and why not make it straight expository? My initial reaction to that thought was “but what will I write about??” … but then I thought about the fact that I’m on the goddamn internet, and writing prompts can be found everywhere. So why not utilize them when I’m having trouble finding shit to write about?

One of my unstated goals is I hope to produce a piece once a week or so for Persephone Magazine. I’m a writer there, although I feel guilty saying that because I’m not professional and consistent. But I’d like to be, and I’d like this challenge to help me achieve that.

Ok, so anyway, it’s 1:20 am and I’d actually like to sneak in a bit if meditation tonight/this morning. I’ll be back tomorrow with something less bloggish.

(wc403)

4 thoughts on “From the Beginning

  1. slaybelle says:

    Baby steps! 200 a day is reasonable goal and when you get that under your belt, you can always reach for more.

    As for PMag, maybe you can commit to putting one article a week in the unicorn? That way you hit your one a week, but you don’t have to meet a specific day deadline.

    • BluntlyBlue says:

      Every time I think baby steps I wind up singing to myself — the song from Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, when Yukon Cornelius sings to the Abominable Snowman. “Put one foot in front of the other, and soon you’ll be walking ‘cross the floooorrr”

      I learned my lesson on unicorn vs. scheduled – the only time I’ll put myself on the schedule (at least for now) is when I have a finished piece in hand. And honestly, the only reason I’m not stuffing the unicorn folder is worry that I’m not writing anything relevant.

  2. I’ve had to lower my daily goals for this round after failures in previous rounds, so I can understand how frustrating it can be (and I fully understand the impact of those have-no-fucks-to-give days :D). Your goals sound manageable, so I’m sure you’ll do great; good luck 🙂

    • BluntlyBlue says:

      I fell flat on my face with NaNo, and I really didn’t want to do the same thing on this. Just once I want a success …

      Thanks so much, good luck to you, too 😀

Leave a Reply

