Head Like a Hole

A round of Words in 80 DaysIt’s tempting to blow off another check-in but it’s been way too long since I have. I spent last weekend being horribly sick (what the fuck is up with being sick this year?), and this week both digging out from under it and being strangely productive in other areas. In other words, no words. Or, not many.

Although I just looked it up, 1698. Which is definitely more than not many. So grand total is 10171, which is right about on target?

Oh shit, just did the math on that, I’m still running over a week ahead. we’re 42 days in and I should be at 8400.

Yay. Maybe having my graphics card shit the bed  desk won’t totally wreck me. Thank the Gods my writing is all stored on the external drive. Smart thinking there, Brenda.

It’s also tempting to back out of here without mentioning my unwritten goal … which means, of course, that I’ve not hit it. Truth is not only have I not hit it, I’ve not even come close. It’s not for lack of trying, I have an electronic trash can slap full of electronic balls of paper. Everything I try to write gets stuck, and it’s so hard to hush up the asshole in my head who loves to tell me I have nothing relevant to say to a group of clever and bookish women, since I’m neither.

So word count, great, article count, sucks like an Electrolux. But I’m here, and I’m even going to say hi to the fb group (finally). I’ll still count it as a win.

3 thoughts on “Head Like a Hole

  1. slaybelle says:

    It is a win. Its so hard to do, and its hard to own up to when you’re not meeting your goals. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Get better soon!

  2. Kate C. says:

    Yay! It must feel GREAT to be so far ahead! Here’s hoping the success continues!

  3. Beth Camp says:

    Glad to see you checking in AND making progress. The only words of encouragement I can think of sound like cliches. What I read here is a battle with technology (which sometimes, as in backups, really helps). Maybe we set ourselves too many goals. Here, you’ve really got just two, one stated in countable words (really good progress) and then that sneaky, secret goal that says: I’m not there yet so write on!

Leave a Reply

